The History of acquaint gathering
There is a rich history behind the origins of Acquaint Gathering. Built in 1889, the chapel was purchased by Mary Kirby Wright and her husband, J.B. Keshlear for $135 dollars. Since then, Acquaint Gathering has stood as one of the oldest buildings used in Grain Valley.
The design remains true to the look of rural churches of that time. The lumber and other materials for the church were purchased from the sale of the Pleasant Valley Methodist Church in the Stoney Point community. The original building was a large one-room structure heated by a wood stove. The mahogany ceiling, walls and windows with curved, pointed tops pointing to heaven, remain a part of the sanctuary today.
Three renovations have been made to the church: a fellowship hall, kitchen and two classrooms were added in 1948. In 1961, a complete remodeling of the sanctuary was completed. In the 1990’s, a two story room was built on the west side of the building, giving the church more class room space.
The first pastor was C.B. Fontaine . The Pink Hill Methodist Church, established in 1871, was the “mother church” of the Grain Valley, Oak Grove and Oakland Methodist’s churches. In the mid-1980’s, it officially became The Grain Valley United Methodist. In recent years, due to their increasing membership, Faith United Methodist Church of Grain Valley sold the building. Leaving the history intact, we have lovingly designed as as perfect wedding and event venue, ready to make your special day AMAZING!